Carrot Ginger Soup 

Tonight I tried my first recipe from one of the low-fodmap books. I didn’t have to buy any special ingredients, really. (Normally I don’t keep fresh ginger around but it isn’t a huge stretch, I love cooking with ginger!) I have seen Carrot Ginger Soup in some variety in every low-FODMAP cookbook I have seen. This is my take on it

  
The problem with this recipe was that it took FOREVER!  I had to make my stock from scratch- less awesome without onion- before I could even start the soup itself. 3 hours to make the stock then another 45 min on the soup. 

Chicken Stock-

  • Bones etc from rotisserie chicken
  • 10 cups water
  • Salt and pepper

Bring everything to a boil and let summer for 3 hours. 

Carrot ginger soup

  • 2TBS oil
  • 1lb carrots peeled and thinly sliced
  • 2in of fresh ginger peeled and grated
  • 4 cups stock
  • Juice of one orange
  • Zest from one half of one orange 
  • Salt and pepper 

Directions – 

  1. Sauté carrot and ginger ~5 or so min. on medium hear
  2. Add in stock- bring to a boil then reduce heat to let the soup simmer 20-30 min. (Until carrots are very soft.)
  3. Blend the carrot and broth mixture in the blender until smooth 
  4. Add in the orange and salt and pepper to taste. 
  5. Serve warm! 

Pretty good. I am glad I have leftovers. I didn’t think it was filling at first but I am very full after finishing my bowl of soup! I do think I will try out some other soups to see if I can find one I like more. 

A note about ginger- I love Asian foods, which is how I started cooking with ginger. But, I love ginger for it’s medicinal properties as well. It helps with motion/sea sickness, and for me, it helps when water alone isn’t kicking my altitude issues. I don’t know if there is science about ginger and altitude sickness or if it just has a placebo impact on me. We live at 6000ft above sea level and I struggle with altitude after being gone for as little as a week at sea level! 100 oz of water and ginger in my cooking makes me feel better faster! 

Leave a Reply

