Oatmeal Peanut Butter No-Bakes

Okay, these are super trendy cookies. They are all over Pinterest and I remember having them as a kid. Low FODMAP does not mean healthy! I mean, if you saw the proportion of my macros, it is totally out of whack. I am actually having a hard time getting enough carbs without too much fat. Not my normal problem!

All that said, my sweet tooth has been calling and my calorie count has been too low. Cookies solve both of these problems!  I can’t find the photo that I have taken of these delicious treats, but here is the recipe.  When you make them with normal milk and butter they set up pretty quickly, but when you sub in vanilla coconut milk and fake butter, it took overnight before they set up.

Please let us talk about this for a moment. I live in a high plains desert at 6000ft above sea level. While making a sandwich, your bread goes stale here. It took overnight for these cookies to actually set up. That is pathetic. I was worried that I was going to have to scrap the whole thing, but they set up eventually. If you are making these with my substitutions and live somewhere that has humidity, you honestly might have to throw them into a dehydrator or something to get them to harden. Either that or limit the amount of coconut milk or fake butter. I don’t know, but you might want to mess around with that.

It was SO NICE to have something I could just grab and go to eat. Not having much I can grab and go has been difficult. There are only so many oranges you want to eat in a week. I was so obsessed I may have justified them for breakfast once or twice. 😉 Adjusting to this diet is challenging!

Leave a Reply

